Derek wins Alan Johnston Memorial Golf Classic

Ninety golfers managed to avoid the thunderstorms that were in the area on Friday to take part in the annual Alan Johnston Memorial Golf Classic at Lurgan Golf Club. And it was Derek Wilson who claimed the Alan Johnston Memorial Claret Jug this year with an excellent 43 points, pipping Stu McCartney by 1 point with Graham McNeill coming 3rd. The Ladies prize was won by Julie Jordan just ahead of Alison King with Rae Gregg finishing third.
The team prize went to Alan and Reuben Cobb, Stu McCartney and James Will just ahead of Alan Woods, Callum Cunningham, Tony Wan and Paul Lyness. Longest drive at the 18th was won by Aaron O’Rourke for the men and Jackie Conn for the Ladies with Garfield Bell getting nearest to the pin at the 18th. The final presentation of the evening was the special Alan Johnston Memorial Award presented by the Tigers section which this year went to Rodney McShane for the tremendous service he has given to the club over many years. Many thanks to all who took part and to all of our many sponsors.

Derek Wilson receiving the Alan Johnston Memorial Claret Jug from John Henry


You may also like...